aggressive banggai cardinal fish.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

coffeetwitch

Aquarium Advice Addict
its in a 40 gallon breeder with ample live rock and room. i like the banggai cardinal fish so much i tried to get a second one.

i believe i have a female, she is bigger than the new one and hates him(actual sex of the new one is undetermined).

i tried putting "her" in a net for 10 minutes and is still very aggressive to the new fish. so i put "her" in my refugium. how long do you guys recommend "her" staying isolated from the dt before trying to introduce them again?

thanks

did a bit of reading. found out that im not experienced enough to sex banggais. and that either they are the same sex or just not a compatible pair.

my original doesnt like the new one and i have to wait to find another one at the lfs and try again (thursday or friday). ill see if sweetie pie wants this banggai in her tank or hold it in my refugium and see if i can exchange him for the second try.

Males are usually the ones that fight from what people that have tried to breed them told me. I am wanting a tank bred one.

local fish store got some more in. first one i brought home it was immediately obvious it wasnt going to work. i was floating the bag and my guy rushed it and flared up at the new one. the new guy returned the greeting. so back to the store. tried to find another one. this time my guy creeped up to the bag and flared only a little then swam off. guy in the bag just sat there. i took this to be a good sign and continued to acclimate.

once it hit the water it followed my guy behind the rocks then they where both puffing up at each other. i dont know whats up. ive looked online and found nothing that definitively helps.