Hello from Minnesota

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

apinkmanatee

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone! My name is Jenna and I am new here and wanted to introduce myself. I am completely new to aquariums and fish keeping, although it has always been a dream of mine. I am finally now doing it because I've gotten very sick this year from my fibromyalgia, and have found myself in need of a hobby that isn't quite as physical as my old hobbies (running, hiking, etc) and I can enjoy its therapuetic value all the days that I am home sick on the couch.

I have a 65 gallon tank, and am planning on doing saltwater (FOWLR). Money is tight so this is going to be a slow process. I'm aquiring things as I can, and asking for lots of fish stuff for Christmas. I have an emperor 400 filter and a ro unit. That's it so far. I am so excited to get everything set up! The fish I was hoping to have are: blue/green chromis, clownfish, coral beauty or flame angel, raccoon butterflyfish, bicolor dottyback, and a blue tang.

What are your thoughts on this combination? Any that you would say are not for a beginner? Or any that I should have that I didn't list? Any tips? I had read somewhere that it's best to have only one tang per tank...is that what you have found to be true? I also read that the raccoon butterflyfish is difficult to keep, but then read somewhere else that it's easy to keep, so what are your thoughts on that? Any websites, books or other resources that you would recommend? I'm so excited and thankful that I can be here and learn from all of you wonderful people that know all about this. Thanks in advance!