Hello from South Philly

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

warped1

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello to all. I am not too good with computers (or forums for that matter - this is my first) so I hope I'm doing this right. Anyway, I live is South Philly, Pa. and want to get back into keeping tropical fish. It has been over 25 years since I've had one and a lot of things have changed with equipment. I am now the proud owner of a 36gal corner tank (Geneva series from Aqueon) it is sitting in my apartment still wrapped in the boxes it came in. I want to set this thing up right and the dude from the pet store told me to check this site out. And that is why I am here. I really enjoy the beauty of the fish and the tranquility a tank brings to a room and I don't want to hurt any fish in my ignorance of new technology.I have a Marineland C-360 canister (got it on sale cheaper then the C-220) but I am worried, since this thing processes 360 gal an hour it is too much for my tank and may produce too strong currents. I can return it for a C-220. Please, if anybody can help me with this I would be thankful. A little about me personally, I am a divorced father of one (a 16 year old boy with a purple mohawk, whom I love more than I can describe) and he has expressed great curiosity and joy at the opportunity to set up this tank with his dad on the weekends (the only time I get to see him - bummer). I work at the PRPM (it is a very large place that processes all imported fruits, veg, etc.) and am going back to college. Well thats about all from me. I look forward to meeting you all and hope to be of service to you.