Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-24-2021, 06:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Introduction

Hi everyone. I've had fish successfully for years. New to the fishless cycling. Using ammonia for the first time ever. Wish me luck. Starting a new
36 g bowfront. At this moment I have a 10g cycled holding tank 1 betta and 6 tetras. Waiting to go to their new home.

__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2021, 09:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5,051
Welcome, if you have a cycled tank that you can transfer the filter over or most of the media from within you shouldnt need to cycle the upgrade.
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2021, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
If that is so, wouldn't my new tank with all the media from the old tank show readings? The only thing showing is the ammonia that I am adding. O nitrites and o nitrates. Thanks
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 08:23 AM   #4
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,858
Welcome aboard. We are glad you found us here at AA.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 08:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,075
Yes. If you put cycled media into your new filter and the bacteria didnt die off in the process of moving you would expect to see some nitrite and/or nitrate.

Did you allow the media to dry out? Or maybe rinsed it in chlorinated water?
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 10:15 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Thanks for your reply. I turned the heat up to 80. Running filter on full, let the tank air out for 24hrs before adding the old media. I didn't add prime. It's only been a week. Nothing has shown up yet. Added ammonia when it drops. No nitrites yet. I will test again today.
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 10:20 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,075
Your ammonia is dropping? But you arent seeing it come out as nitrite or nitrate? Any plants in the aquarium?

You say you didnt add prime. So your water is chlorinated. That will kill off the bacteria.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 10:37 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
I've read not to use a de chlorinator when starting a new tank. Fill, turn up heat, add air. Let run for 24 hrs to get rid of chlorine. Add prime when you start the water changes. Hope I'm not wrong. Thanks
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 10:46 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,075
Chlorinated water will kill off beneficial bacteria. Letting water stand for 24 hours should degas the chlorine, never tried it myself, i use a dechlorinator. Are you sure it degassed ok? Is this how you treat water for your water changes on your established tank(s)? Are you sure your water treatment is chlorine and not chloramine? Chloramine doesn't degas like chlorine.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 11:01 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Hi. No. With my established tank I always use prime during water changes. This is the first time trying pure ammonia. Cycling before was with fish. This is new to me. I've always used prime when cycling. I've read that you don't need it when first starting. As long as you gas off the tank. I did.
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 12:02 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,043
If you have had success doing fish in cycling all this time Im curious why you are switching methods.

Fish less cycling is probably our number one discussed topic here for a reason. It is mightily confusing.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 12:03 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Hi. I really don't want to kill fish. I thought I'd try something new🙂.
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 12:55 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Hi. I just tested my tank. Do you think it's cycled?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210825_094822.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	260.9 KB
ID:	321664  
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 01:04 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronigun View Post
Hi. I just tested my tank. Do you think it's cycled?
That ammonia looks very high. No. For a fishless cycle you should be cycling out 2ppm ammonia to 0ppm ammonia and 0ppm nitrite in 24 hours.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 01:09 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronigun View Post
Hi. No. With my established tank I always use prime during water changes. This is the first time trying pure ammonia. Cycling before was with fish. This is new to me. I've always used prime when cycling. I've read that you don't need it when first starting. As long as you gas off the tank. I did.
As long as you are sure you are chlorine free, it doesnt matter how you dechlorinate. Like i said, are you sure you degassed off the chlorine? Chlorine will kill off beneficial bacteria. Is water chloramine treated? This wont degas.

I think when people are saying dont use prime during a fishless cycle, they are referring to its ammonia detoxifying properties. Not saying dont dechlorinate the water.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 01:09 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Thanks.
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 01:19 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Ok. So I tested everything. I know the ammonia is out the roof. So is the Niitrates. Ph (BOTH) are normal. What I am going to do is change 50% of the water and check ammonia after. If I have to add ammonia back up I will.Wait for a day and see if ammonia and nitrites have dropped to 0. If so I will do a 90% w/c. Correct? Thanks
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 01:30 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,075
Unless your ammonia is way out there, like 5ppm or higher just leave it. pH is irrelevant unless you are down at like 6.0pH. Im wondering where the nitrate came from. Your previous post said it was 0. So thats good, you must have some cycle going, just not enough to remove all the ammonia yet.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2021, 01:32 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Thanks a lot. I will keep you posted.
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 12:12 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 14
Hi everyone. 5 weeks later. My tank is finally cycled. 0 ammo, 0 nitrites, 40 nitrates. First day. I dose 2 ppm ammonia every 2 days and is gone at every test. My question is: If I originally dosed at 4 ppm of ammonia in the very beginning and then went to 2 ppm do I do the last one at 4 or 2 ppm? To test if it's cycled? If cycled, ammo and rites should be zero in 24 hrs?
__________________
Ronigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
intro, introduction

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Introduction Alex93 Member Introductions 158 07-03-2016 09:57 PM
Activating sand before introduction BillyZ Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 06-21-2003 11:05 AM
introduction & fish illness ghettorigged Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 04-24-2003 01:17 AM
Introduction -- Yellow Eye Tang Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 12-09-2002 08:45 PM
Introduction Pat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-09-2002 11:16 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.