New To the site about myself and my fresh wa/ aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheDonstar

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys and gals! ;)

I have a 15 Gallon Freshwater tank with 3 sunburst Mollies, 3 platies, and a SM Plecostomous. Since im new to the whole aquarium world ive done alot of research after my first 5 fish died >.> ...

I attempted to put a golden puffer, a black moor, 2 mollies and an algea eater all into a brand new tank that I had just set up and everybody reading this already can forshadow what happened in the next 8 hours

THEY ALL DROPPED LIKE FLIES!!! :tgv:

[Aka - New Tank Syndrome]

Take in consideration I have my aquarium at my girlfriends house >.> so I have to tell her what to do alot of the time while im not there but that will change here in a few months LOL.

Anyways after doing some research on the nitrogen cycle and everything that happens in your tank for the first 4-8 weeks I left the algea eater sit and decompose for a week or so, went out bought some Ammonia test stripes and some pH stripes and attempted to put my first 4 mollies in the tank and a otocinlus. One of the Sunburst Mollies died and the otocinclus died but I still had 3 mollies left and continued to do a 15% Water Change every time I came down to my GF's House to make sure they were getting the attention they needed.

Currently in the last few days im about 3 weeks into the Nitrogen Cycle and have added my 3 Platies and a SM Plecostomous and have continued to keep doing water changes.