Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-24-2022, 04:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 1
Fluval 406 Troubleshooting ( many models apply )

Ok first off I'd like to tip my hat to all the great advice here.
Thank you for the welcome.
If this belongs elsewhere , my bad.
So I bought a used Fluval 406 and hoped it was going to be plug and play. Nope.
Hard time priming and then finally just force fed the intake. Voila!
But then it would only work intermittently(sp). Quite noisy as well.
Took it all apart to discover that the impeller was at fault and the ceramic shaft that stabalises it was missing.
Ordered new impeller which comes with shaft. $20 Amazon
Turned unit on and it worked, sorta , now to discover that main head gasket leaked. And we all know that aint gonna cut it.
Removed seal , cleaned it well , then before re-installing I wrapped a wide elastic band around the head where the seal goes ( to take up any gap) then installed seal.
Seemed to do the trick , fired up unit to now discover that the " aqua stop valve " also leaked. Could audibly hear it.
Figured out how to disassemble aqua stop valve to inspect. All looked good but obviously it wasn't. Removed seals from either side of shaft , smothered them in vaseline and re-installed. Voila! It ran great! Except for a tiny tiny leak , but that wasnt good enough for me so I took it apart once more and in doing so I broke one of the seals dagnabit!
I ordered new aqua stop valve $24 Amazon, installed and it runs as new now.
Thought I'd share my experience, hope it helps.
Included is some pics of the valve disassembled and the gasket that I broke.

As a side note: I think the gasket problem most likely was due to the canister being used previously on a salt water set up and then once removed it sat and dried out considerably.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2303.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	168.0 KB
ID:	324360   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2304.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	157.7 KB
ID:	324361  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2305.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	166.7 KB
ID:	324362  

__________________
Spotless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 04:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacky12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: USA
Posts: 278
Good post. I wound up replacing both the impeller & motor. Used F4, the big one that looks like a shop vac
__________________
Jacky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 04:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Perth in Western Australia
Posts: 435
Hi and welcome to the forum

What a wonderful introduction you had to Fluval filters

I miss the old style filters, they were so much simpler and rarely had issues like the new ones do.

The priming devices on new filters are a waste of time and always cause problems, regardless of brand.

Good that you got it going though
__________________
Colin_T is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 04:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacky12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: USA
Posts: 278
What old style, Colin?
__________________
Jacky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 04:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 4,415
I find my 406 rattles after a year or so. Get the maintenance kit and replace the impeller, impeller shaft, impeller cap and o ring every 12 months.

There are 2 versions of the 406 also. Yours looks like the later version. A lot of the parts are different for older 406s than newer so make sure you get correct parts. The aquastop valve from older 406s doesnt fit the newer 406s for instance.

I think the earlier 406 took a lot of parts from the 405, and they updated the filter to use different parts midway through its run before they discontinued it for the 407.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 04:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Perth in Western Australia
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacky12 View Post
What old style, Colin?
Early Fluval external canister filters (like the Fluval 303) were round and had one o-ring. That was it. No fiddly primers or weird shaped seals, just one o-ring that fitted between the motor and case. They ran a stainless steel impellor shaft and the whole unit lasted for years.
__________________
Colin_T is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
app, fluval, fluval 406, trouble, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 2 plan Fluval Chi tanks (first & second generation tank models) BettaChi Show Off/Photography 1 06-29-2016 09:44 AM
Is there any differences between the fluval 405 and fluval 406? Banana mouse General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 06-02-2012 01:41 PM
Which Canister Filter for 55 Gallon, Looking at Fluval Models ashleynicole Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 05-24-2012 06:00 PM
Fish per inch rule, does this apply to inverts? byrdman81 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-15-2005 07:32 PM
Does the 5/1 stocking rule really apply? blorkiemom Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 09-05-2004 06:27 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.