Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2006, 05:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
Just got my AquaClear

Just recieved my Aquaclear in the mail today, set it up and have it running on my smaller tank before putting it in my big one. A few things bug my, dont get me wrong the extra filtration is a big step up from my whisper but the quality doesnt seem that great. I mean the whisper has a nice valve, better and deeper tubing with snap connectors, and and seem alittle more well constructed. I guess its stilll better then not listening to trickling water from the BioWheels though, other then that Im happy with it.
__________________

__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 06:06 PM   #2
kaz
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,292
is this a canister? I heard great things on fluval and rena filster xp3
__________________

__________________
I thank you all for your attention and time!
75g/Rena Xp3/Inline Heater/Rena Air 200/Eco-Complete/Current Dual Daylight System
6 Rummy Nose, 9 Ottos, 2 Yoyo Loach, 1 Golden Nugget Pleco, 2 Julli's Cory, 4 Angelicus Botia, 1 Chocolate Kuhli Loach, 3 Ghost Shrimp, 1 SAE, 1 Black Mollie, 1 Redeye Swordtail Mollie, 1 C-Pleco, MTS, Guppy's
Plants
Argentine Sword, Amazon Sword, Micro Sword, Xmas Moss, Pennywort, Hornwort, Jave Fern, Baby Tears, Moneywort, Ludwigia, Wisteria, Giant Bacoba, Hygro 'Sunset'
kaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 06:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
No its the AC 50 HOB, dont really need all the features of a canister for my 30.
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 07:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
QTOFFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 4,295
When my Pengin filters die, I plan on replacing them with Aquaclears for the added media flexibility.

Regarding the quality, I've noticed that every year the build quality of most things decreases slightly. The plastic or metal is a wee bit thinner, and fasteners are replaced by spot welds. I guess it just means that a product bought today won't take the bumps and jolts that the same product bought 10 years ago did. *Sigh*
__________________
QTOFFER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 07:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
Yeah, as far as the ACs go, I would get a Emperor when you replace your penguin as they have lots of flexibility. My AC5 only has 30 spots for media, sponge, carbon, bio max thats all.

Hey how often should I replace the media anyway? I only had a sponge and carbon in my old Whisper.
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 720
you dont replace the media in AC filters, except if you're using Carbon... which needs to be replaced weekly I believe to maintain effectiveness.

The sponges should just be rinsed/shuished in the old tank water when doing a water change to retain the bacteria populations on them. A lot of ppl including myself just use 2 sponges in the AC media spot, sometimes with filter floss or carbon inbetween them.

I love AC filters - but you need to watch out for 1 thing - be VERY careful to not drop them onto the motor housing. The tabs on the filter housing that the motor locks into are fairly thin and if they break, you cannot reliably reseat the motor to create a water-tight fitting. I broke a small AC filter and was able to keep it "together" by wrapping the thing in electrical tape to hold the motor on
__________________
tbonem91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by QTOFFER
When my Pengin filters die, I plan on replacing them with Aquaclears for the added media flexibility.
What do you mean? Penguins have the biowheels plus a slot for extra media. What more is there?
Just curious.
__________________
Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:29 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
I replace carbon monthly, what about those Bio Max filter, how ofthen do I need to replace those ceramic things?

Whats filter floss anyways?
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Don't replace the Biomax. The instructions will tell you to but they're just trying to make a buck LOL. You can rinse it in tankwater the same way you rinse your sponge. I don't even use carbon in mine. I stack 2 sponges on top of each other instead.

The thing I don't like about the Marineland cartridges is that the carbon is inside the filter pad, so you can't go without unless you make some modifications. They are expensive too. The AC is much cheaper to use in the long run.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
For small filters, the aquaclears are simple in design and let you have choice with regards to what media you put above the sponge. Not many small filters like that. I despise the ones with proprietary cartridges. I think that is why the aquaclear is so popular.

I have some floss above the sponge, then porous biomedia above that. The sponge gets rinsed periodically, and the floss gets replaced. the porouse biomedia stays clean and unclogged and is never replaced.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:42 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
So is this floss just fibery filter material you put in between the various filter media.
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:57 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Yeah. go online, its called filter floss. Chances are your LFS has some corner filters running in some of the tanks, and I bet they have the white (at least when its new) floss in it. It is somewhat cottony, kinda like the stuff they put in the top of the tylenol bottles? It isn't cotton, its some other material, but when you see a fluffy bag stuffed with it you will instantly recognize what it is.

I cram it into the aquaclear below the biomedia, and in the fluval I cram it into a media basket below the biomedia. Its just another layer of mechanical filtration, although like anything in the tank, it gets colonized. Way back when, before the ceramic porous biomedia, filter floss and carbon was your biomedia too. But with biomedia elswhere, it is disposable fine mechanical filtration.

It is sold in sheets that you can form cut to any shape you want, or in big fluff bags that you just pull off what you want and cram in.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 12:56 AM   #13
RoK
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,490
Send a message via AIM to RoK Send a message via MSN to RoK
Quote:
Originally Posted by richiestang_78
I replace carbon monthly, what about those Bio Max filter, how ofthen do I need to replace those ceramic things?

Whats filter floss anyways?
No need for carbon, except for removing meds or clearing tannins. Using the bio-max on top and 2 sponges under it, works very well. The sponges and bio-max can just be rinsed and put back in.

Much cheaper than replacing filter cartridges every couple weeks or month.
__________________
Current fish (includes all 3 running tanks): Polypterids, severums (of which I raised from eggs), gouramis, plecos (gold spot ones & a gurupa), loaches (zebras, yoyos, & a kubotai), macculocchi spotted silver dollars, an African butterfly fish, & Ctenopomas (a leopard & an ansorgii)
RoK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 02:12 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
doesnt teh carbon help remove contaminents in the water though?
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 02:23 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 820
Only for a short while (like a few days) then its used up...as mentioned you don't need it...
My filter comes with the pouches that have it packaged inside the cartridge so I use it...but thats the only reason.
__________________
Fatz

90g SW FOWLR
50g tall fw planted at .6wpg
29g fw planted at 1.2 wpg
10g fw planted at 3 wpg cf
SCFatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 10:56 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Yeah, carbon is only sticky for a few weeks, then it just becomes granules with surface area for the bacteria to live on. Carbon actually is a relatively good substrate for the bacteria to live on, but its adsorption capacity is rather temporary. Thus, many skip the carbon and just add porous, high surface area substrate for the bacteria. My tanks are cyrstal clear, never had any carbon in them.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 05:07 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 497
Alright when the carbons up Ill switch to another sponge, should I get the same type of sponge or is there one type of sponge better then another?
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 12:33 AM   #18
RoK
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,490
Send a message via AIM to RoK Send a message via MSN to RoK
Same.
__________________

__________________
Current fish (includes all 3 running tanks): Polypterids, severums (of which I raised from eggs), gouramis, plecos (gold spot ones & a gurupa), loaches (zebras, yoyos, & a kubotai), macculocchi spotted silver dollars, an African butterfly fish, & Ctenopomas (a leopard & an ansorgii)
RoK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear 30 or 50? new2betas Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 37 09-12-2008 05:52 AM
Aquaclear 50 black hills tj Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 04-16-2007 01:03 PM
Aquaclear 50 dharris General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-01-2005 03:43 PM
AquaClear 70 AquaJoe General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 23 10-29-2005 09:49 AM
Aquaclear on the way! fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-12-2005 08:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.