Overwhelmed by lighting choices

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tex

Aquarium Advice Freak
Geez, I'm looking for reef lighting for my new 100 gal. I'm just flat overwhelmed by the choices and price range out there. From what I've read here I need about 4 to 5 watts per gallon for reef and could get by with about half that for a FOWLR setup. Is my thinking correct here?

My main tank is 60" long and 18" wide. I'd need a 60" fixture (preferably duals) or two 30"s or some damn combination. I can't decide on what. Mounting is not an issue. They don't have to fit the tank exactly. I can suspend them from the ceiling or fabricate some type of stainless steel bracket. (Hey, I'm an engineer who works in a steel fabrication shop). The Orbit fixtures look very nice but pricey, I do like the way the legs stand them off from them tank.

Some manufacturers claim dramatic bulb longevity and lower overall ownership costs. Some of it sounds like marketing BS.

It looks like I could get by for about $250 or spend $1000 or more. Maybe I could go with a FOWLR and buy LR with the difference and then add additional reef lights in a year or so when the tank is stable. Could someone give me a baseline idea on how to light such a tank?
TIA

Lighting can be complicated. The first thing to determine is just what type of corals/invets your would like to keep. Some require more intense light then others do. You can then build your lighting system around that. In general, CF or VHO lighting will do just fine for all soft corals and most LPS corals. If you wish to keep SPS corals, clams and anemones, you should consider MH lighting.