Powerhead placement

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pkremer

Aquarium Advice Freak
OK, I have no powerheads in my freshwater aquarium, but I understand the importance of having them in a saltwater aquarium.

I have a 46-gallon, and I intend to put about 65 pounds of live rock in it. I purchased 2 Maxi-Jet 900s (a total of 460 gph). You can see in the picture how I have them tentatively placed. The problem I have is that I have no experience and no idea how to create good water flow. I'm not sure if you want the 2 water streams to crash into each other in the middle, or if you want 2 layers of water moving? Right now I tentatively have them placed to move the top 1/4 and just above the 1/2 line.

What have you found works well? Obviously how I build my aquascape will make a difference, but what are your thoughts?

For me I just play & position them once all my LR is in place to make sure there are no "dead" spots to create a puddle of junk build up... know what I mean? I try to keep a low GPH PH blowing behind the rock on the back glass to keep a good water flow... but not too much... just enough to keep food and garbage from getting trapped back there... not sure if it's needed.... just always have.

I have been thinking about getting a couple of the power heads that move, wave makers I think?... not sure though... more reading 1st :)

I'd want one of them to break the suface of the water to oxygenate it, so I'd point it up a little. The other could go nearly anywhere...I don't think you can really tell until you get your rock in there, aquascaped, and see how things go. You will soon see if there are trouble spots and you can move your ph accordingly.