Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-19-2010, 09:17 PM   #21
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman View Post
I have marineland 350's on all my tanks and love them. It would be a little overkill for a 10g, but I run one on my 29G fry tank and it works great and the water is crystal clear.
Hey Spoon!

What part of Vegas are you in? I'm in Henderson!

As for the "overkill for a 10 gallon" suggestion, I actually have a 60...

Would this be good over an AquaClear?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 09:45 PM   #22
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Honestly, whether you focus just on money or on the cleaning ability adding an AC is a good option. It is cheaper to run the ACs since you do not have to replace the media (except for carbon if you use it). The media for those other filters will add up fast and will pay for a brand new AC110.
If you really want to stick with the others just keep the AC110 in mind.

If there was another filter to consider someone would mention it. IME the debate for best HOB always ends with AC, sometimes a Biowheel lover will chime in and refuse to quit, but the ACs are the top pick of most hobbyists.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 02:58 AM   #23
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
Honestly, whether you focus just on money or on the cleaning ability adding an AC is a good option. It is cheaper to run the ACs since you do not have to replace the media (except for carbon if you use it). The media for those other filters will add up fast and will pay for a brand new AC110.
If you really want to stick with the others just keep the AC110 in mind.

If there was another filter to consider someone would mention it. IME the debate for best HOB always ends with AC, sometimes a Biowheel lover will chime in and refuse to quit, but the ACs are the top pick of most hobbyists.
Thanks Fish,

Indeed I see that the AquaClears are always recommended by the hobbyists; I am just uncertain of a couple of things now...

Should I replace the Aqueons completely now that I noticed some kind of bacterial growth (as far as I can recognize) on their biogrids?

And, do I need to worry about the AquaClears' intake strainer sucking my goldfish in?

Could you also explain to me why the AquaClears don't have to have their media changed (unless I misunderstood you)?

Thanks.
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 07:11 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
no, leave the aqueons on your tank right now so you dont stop or have to restart the cycle. when/if you get an aqua clear just run that on your tank with the aqueon for about a month so that bacteria can colonize it. then you can take the aqueon off.

you only replace the media in the aqua clear when/if it's falling apart or used up if activated carbon. other wise you just rinse it out in the used tank water when you do a pwc. i dont use the carbon in mine unless i need to remove medication so i added some bonded filter floss for more biological filtering capacity.
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 06:27 PM   #25
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishEggs View Post
no, leave the aqueons on your tank right now so you dont stop or have to restart the cycle. when/if you get an aqua clear just run that on your tank with the aqueon for about a month so that bacteria can colonize it. then you can take the aqueon off.
Okay.

Quote:
you only replace the media in the aqua clear when/if it's falling apart or used up if activated carbon. other wise you just rinse it out in the used tank water when you do a pwc. i dont use the carbon in mine unless i need to remove medication so i added some bonded filter floss for more biological filtering capacity.
So, pretty much, if I use the supplied three-level/layer media that comes in the box, those elements never need to be changed or replaced? The sponge-like pads, etc?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 06:37 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 59
I have 2 Marineland Penguin 350B filters on my 55g... no problems at all with water quality or cloudyness. I wont buy anything else.
__________________
Coyote5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:32 PM   #27
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyote5 View Post
I have 2 Marineland Penguin 350B filters on my 55g... no problems at all with water quality or cloudyness. I wont buy anything else.
Thanks for the input, Coyote; indeed, it seems we have a vote here for the Marinelands...

Why do you like them so much? Can you give me some insight as to why you prefer them over the AquaClears?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 10:23 PM   #28
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Have you also used AquaClears or just the Marinelands?

You do need to replace carbon (which comes with a new AC) but not the biomedia or the foam block.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 01:02 AM   #29
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
Have you also used AquaClears or just the Marinelands?
Are you referring to me or Coyote?

Quote:
You do need to replace carbon (which comes with a new AC) but not the biomedia or the foam block.
Oh, okay...
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:50 AM   #30
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Coyote, have you used AquaClears or just like your Marinelands?
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 02:37 AM   #31
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
So, have we come any closer to some kind of concensus here for me? I know FishGuy recommends keeping my Aqueons on for now, and then perhaps adding the AquaClear later on (unless I was mistaken), and I think that may be a solid plan...

I'm thinking of keeping my QuietFlow 55 on at least because that's the bigger filter, and just replacing the QuietFlow 30, which doesn't seem to be doing anything on the opposite side of the tank, to be honest -- I'd replace the 30 with an AquaClear 110, so it would be the Aqueon QuietFlow 55 and the AquaClear 110 running the tank...would this make for adequate flow and exchange/return rates?

Are there any other HOB brands I should be exploring or considering outside of Tetra, Marineland or AquaClear?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 03:15 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
if you have another filter and its working for it keep it. if at some time you want to add another filter to the tank/breaks down/ new tank get a aquaclear. i find it very hand to stick to one brand of filters that way you always have parts or extra media or something. i only run aquaclears since they give you the best options for media. they are also work horses. i been running them for years with out any problems.

on the 60 gallon tank the 3 filters you have should be fine. if you want to upgrade ac 110 would be the way to go. i would take out the small filters.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 03:30 AM   #33
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgamer20o0 View Post
if you have another filter and its working for it keep it. if at some time you want to add another filter to the tank/breaks down/ new tank get a aquaclear. i find it very hand to stick to one brand of filters that way you always have parts or extra media or something. i only run aquaclears since they give you the best options for media. they are also work horses. i been running them for years with out any problems.

on the 60 gallon tank the 3 filters you have should be fine. if you want to upgrade ac 110 would be the way to go. i would take out the small filters.
Gamer,

Right now, I don't have three filters running -- just two Aqueons, one QuietFlow 55 and a second QuietFlow 30 to supplement the 55; are you saying keep these and not get a new AquaClear, or add the AquaClear to the Aqueon 55?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:29 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
i went by your sig thats why. if they are working for you keep them. if you are having problems with them then think about switching. if you do switch personally i would go with a ac110. i dont know if i would go out and buy a new filter just because.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:33 PM   #35
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Oh, the Tetra Whisper is actually an air pump for the bubble wands, not a filter -- I guess I need to specifiy that in the signature...

As for them "working for me," that's what I'm wondering -- would the AquaClears make a difference in terms of clearer water?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:37 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
stratmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie
Posts: 290
I actually just picked up a redesigned whisper power filter and there awesome! Usually I'm a marineland guy (the emperor power filters being the king IMO) but I'd have to say these whisper filters are pretty cool.


https://www.fosterandsmithaquatics.c...tid=19169&r=33

It has some kind of strip deal to tell you exactly when your carbon is exhausted and a new cartridge is needed and the bio scrubber technology it uses is pretty cool, self priming too. I'd say to give that a try or go with the emperor power filter, just stay away from the penguins the emps are better for the spray bar.
__________________
Stingrays are the best!
stratmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 02:35 AM   #37
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratmaster View Post
I actually just picked up a redesigned whisper power filter and there awesome! Usually I'm a marineland guy (the emperor power filters being the king IMO) but I'd have to say these whisper filters are pretty cool.


https://www.fosterandsmithaquatics.c...tid=19169&r=33

It has some kind of strip deal to tell you exactly when your carbon is exhausted and a new cartridge is needed and the bio scrubber technology it uses is pretty cool, self priming too. I'd say to give that a try or go with the emperor power filter, just stay away from the penguins the emps are better for the spray bar.
Thanks!

I think I noticed these on Tetra's site; is there a model good for up to 60 gallons?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 09:43 AM   #38
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Yet again...

Like just about every other HOB out there the media for these is a dinky little slide-in cartridge with a thin layer of floss and a sprinkling of carbon. Compare that to the media in an AquaClear and you will see a massive difference in the amount of media.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 05:21 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
stratmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage_Winter View Post
Thanks!

I think I noticed these on Tetra's site; is there a model good for up to 60 gallons?
Yes I believe there's a double fall style whisper that is good up to a 70 gallon tank.
__________________
Stingrays are the best!
stratmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:38 AM   #40
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
If it is claiming 'up to' 70 gallons that means it is really good for about 35 gallons (of moderate stock of community fish). Always cut what they claim in half, with any company.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hob, ich, ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Pick ups melosu58 New Acquisitions 14 03-09-2010 07:38 PM
Need Advice... HOB Skimmer and HOB Filter ferchoz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-15-2009 04:35 PM
Help me pick out my new tank TheChad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-29-2008 03:11 PM
Switching from HOB to canister. time before I can remove HOB turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-27-2007 03:29 PM
How to pick the best LR eb0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-20-2004 11:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.