Caring for new Platy fry in adult tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ponch

Aquarium Advice Freak
My blue mickey mouse platy gave birth yesterday to an unknown amount of fry. i don't have an extra tank for them at the moment and to date they have been successfully hiding in plastic plants and avoiding the two platy adults. This is my first time rearing fry and I have questions!!!

1 - i know they need pristine water conditions. my tank has 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite and ~5 - 10 nitrate with a weekly water change. Is this OK? Or should do daily or every two day water changes?

2 - In a tank with adults how do you ensure they are being adequately fed? i know they need to be fed 2-3x per day. I have some fry food ground into a fine powder which i have been dropping into the tank a couple times per day. this food sinks to bottom and I assume they are getting it.

3 - i'm going to look into breeder nets today at the LFS. aside from those does anyone know a good DIY in-tank fry container so i can keep them all in one place, and make sure they get food?

Thx.

You could

Cut a gallon jug in half with pinholes in the sides and clip it to your tank

Do the same with a 2 liter bottle

Or a Tupperware

I dont separate my platies. The fry are in the same tank. I have tons of hornwort and rocks for them to hide in. I also do my usual weekly water changes and that's it. I wouldn't worry about losing fry. Honestly if they are hiding now they'll be okay. And if yours start to spawn like my platies do, you'll be looking for someone to take some of the juvies off your hands. Congrats on the breeding and whatever you are doing stick to it. It's working. When you start to change things up is when you run into problems

image-1211897944.jpg

Don't know if you can see the fry in the middle of the pic

Attachments

• image-4129355022.jpg
    image-4129355022.jpg