20gal upgrade

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ilovemydragongoby

Aquarium Advice FINatic
We are currently looking around for a larger tank to move my fish to! Very excited, I've been moving alot of stuff around in the house today trying to figure out where to put one. We are trying to find some where between an 80-100gal it will be the home of my black ghost knife, barbs, otos and mollies.

I was looking at a used 100 gal but it has an overflow...not sure if i'm ready to make that big of a jump with the plumbing and stuff. do i need an overflow with a freshwater, i thought it was just for saltwater. i'm still new to this lol

the guy who is selling it said he'll give me the pump with it, and i can use the 20gal as a sump. no idea how to do that?

this is the current stock list of 20gal that will be move to the bigger tank:
1 black ghost knife
6 albino cherry barbs
4 mollies
3 otos

any suggestions for more stock would be appreciated! i love more ideas!

Hehe... Don't tell me you're from Ottawa.. I am also looking at a similar set-up but not sure I want the overflow - sump set-up...

As for using the Sump in a FW tank, not really something you need. The reason why SW tanks use these types of setups is so they can hide all their components such as their skimmer & Heater. These go in the Sump and do not show on your main Tank.
It's a lil' different with FW set-up since we use Filters and not skimmers. It can still be done but not something I would personally do or recommend.

so would you say that i should just keep looking for a different tank...one without a built in overflow?

IMO, if you're planning on staying FW 20G, I'd look for a standard tank with HOB or Can Filtration.
BTW, are you looking for a Standard 20G or long 20G?

IMO, if you're planning on staying FW 20G, I'd look for a standard tank with HOB or Can Filtration.