Adding plants to an established tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SuperFly426

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 10 gallon tank that's been established for about three months now. I added three little plants I bought at Petsmart about a month ago, but after doing some research, I've realized that I should have put down a soil then gravel. Right now they're just sitting in gravel. They don't seem to be doing too well either.

If I wanted to add all new pants, what should I do without having to re-cycle? Could I just clear the tank, put soil down, then re-add the fish?

Any help would be greatly appreciate, as I am new to all of this!

Thanks! :)

I have a 10 gallon tank that's been established for about three months now. I added three little plants I bought at Petsmart about a month ago, but after doing some research, I've realized that I should have put down a soil then gravel. Right now they're just sitting in gravel. They don't seem to be doing too well either.

If I wanted to add all new pants, what should I do without having to re-cycle? Could I just clear the tank, put soil down, then re-add the fish?

Any help would be greatly appreciate, as I am new to all of this!

Thanks! :)

A. What kind of plants ( pics may help ) :)
B. what kind of light bulb exactly ( pic of the writing on the bulb may help )

You can grow some easy plants in gravel. You need at least 2" of Gravel. You can add Root Tabs. Stick them deep under the substrate.

Also get some Flourish Comprehensive.
Liquid Fert.

I use these in my screw in fixtures
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003QZF7JA/ref=mp_s_a_1?qid=1338862052&sr=8-1

Here's a picture of the bulb box and plants. Can I stay with gravel? If not can I leave the fish in the tank when converting to sand?

ForumRunner_20130227_091940.jpg

ForumRunner_20130227_091950.jpg