Adopted 12gal Nano Cube - Need pointers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mbonus

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all!,

I just adopted(purchased) a fully setup 12 gal Aquapod tank with built in Filter/Pump/3 Lights (White, Blue, Led) and the following:

Protein Skimmer
Live rock
few not sure how many) snails for cleanup crew
three small hermit crabs
1 Clownfish (true or false percula - I don't know)
1 Pajama Cardinal

The previous owner did a wonderful job of setting up the tank in our house and the water is crystal clear two days after move. I am a total newb to all thing aquaria, so I am wondering if I have bit off more than I can chew.

So far I have only been feeding the tank once a day in the morning and the inhabitants seem to gobble everything up with 2 minutes. I have a RO under sink system, but I don't know if it is up to the duty of a nanoreef.

Any pointers you have would be welcome!

Thanks,

Mike

Pictures just after move(sorry - shaky cell phone pics), still a little cloudy...

nanopod12ga%208.31.10.jpg

pic 2

nanopod12ga%20-%202%20-%208.31.10.jpg
[/img]

Last edited:
Got a test kit? I'd like to see you watch nitrates regularly and ammonia and nitrites now in case stuff got stirred up. Ph test too.

Find out more about the lighting too to see if you can add some color/corals. Otherwise, nice pickup there and Welcome to AA!! :) :)

He gave me a lot of stuff, but I don't think there was a test kit in there. I got the impression he would just take the water to his local shop for testing. I have not yet found a local shop.

I do have an advanced Taylor test kit for pools. I could probably test PH with that, but none of the other stuff you mentioned. What is an appropriate PH level?

Do you have a good all around kit recommendation?

Here is what the manual has to say about the lighting: