ADVICE?.... Smelly Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

greenorchid

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello - I am new to all this and we started off with some hiccups - but things are moving along well (knock on wood) however, we have noticed a smelly water smell upon entering our living room. Can this be fixed? or is this just part of in home aquarium living?

We have an open top 55 gallon tank with a 70 gallon aquaclear filter and a large long air stone with pebble bottom and 2 goldfish. (One XL chocolate oranda and one medium red fantail).

If I add a lid/cover will this help? Is it better to leave open for oxygen? or is it the smell of the Ich meds I had to add to my tank because I purchased sick fish from an independent pet store that I just found out yesterday form someone - was not a clean store. I go to the pet store daily and have water checked so far so good. My test kit is coming in the mail.

If a tank cover is all I need - what do you recommend? And will I be taking away oxygen from them? Thanks

The cover does nothing but to keep the tank covered, it does not take oxygen away.
The smell, could a problem, do you change water frequently?
Did it smell before adding the meds?

The lid won't impede any oxygen exchange. It would have to be completely sealed to stop the oxygen exchange. The air stone will create plenty of oxygen. The lid will help a little with the smell, but it shouldn't really smell. Maybe I'm just used to mine? You should be doing 20-50% water changes every week. Also, you could use some more filtration. Another aquaclear 70 would help.