advice with 4 gallon fishless cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Harlebora

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, This is my first time cycling a tank properly and was wondering if everything is going in the right direction. My tank is 4 gallon/20 litres and the temperature is currently set to 30/86 as I read this speeds up the bacteria growth? I test my water everyday with the API test kit. I am only 14 days into my fishless cycle and my PH has been constant at 7.6 on the PH test kit and 7.4 on the high range test kit everyday. I initially dosed ammonia to 4ppm with dr tims ammonium chloride solution but haven't and wont be using any bacteria additives. All water dosed with dechlorinator at start and during pwc.

Day 5 ammonia dropped to 2ppm so I dosed it back to 4ppm
Day 7 ammonia 0.25ppm (dosed back to 4ppm) nitrites 0
Day 8 ammonia 1ppm (dosed back to 4ppm) nitrites 0.25
Day 10 ammonia 0 (dosed back to 4ppm) nitrites 0 nitrates 40
Day 11 ammonia 0 (dosed back to 4ppm) nitrites 0 nitrates 40
Day 12 ammonia 0 (dosed back to 4ppm) nitrites 0 nitrates 80
Day 13 ammonia 0 (dosed back to 4ppm) nitrites 0.25ppm nitrates 160 (done a 50% water change as PH dropped to 7.2)
Day 14 ammonia 0 (dosed back to 4ppm) nitrites 0 nitrates 40

I thought my nitrites would be reading higher by now or at some point as nitrates are really building quickly. Any thoughts and input would be great thanks.

Thanks for reply. I was under the impression nitrites were supposed to build up really high as ammonia levels dropped then the nitrite eating bacteria got established and brought the numbers down and started converting into nitrates but that is good to know thanks.