Ammonia Poisoning?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Atrimmer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok so I'm a newbie and am learning as I go..

I have a 16 litre (5 gallon) tank with 4 guppies, 3 neon tetras an a bristlenose suckermouth (which I know now is over crowded..

To make matters worse i didn't know about tank cycling until after I bought the fish.

I've had them for about a week now doing 1-2, 40% water changes daily and adding water conditioner to try to keep the ammonia and nitrate levels down while cycling.

We also had a massive storm 2 days ago where the power was out for 22 hours. Although I did manage to transport them to a friends house to keep the filter working as I know the tank is cycling AND there's a large bio load so didn't want to risk the filter not being on for that long.

They all seemed fine until this morning where they're fins are red an they are lethargic an are either on the top gulping for air or stationary on the bottom.

I have an air stone, submersible filter and thermometer to help keep oxygen an temp stable.

This morning I did a 50% water change and did an emergency dose of Prime Solution to turn ammonia and nitrate non toxic.

It seemed to help a little but they still look stationary (not at top gulping anymore though).

Is there anything else I can do to help my fish live and recover or have I unknowingly given them the death sentence? :(

I don't have a test kit but they clearly have ammonia poisoning..

You really need a test kit it will help you see what's wrong and correct it.

Oceangirl said:
I would nix the pleco or get a larger tank 20 or above. Plecos are poop machines. A 10 gallon your could get for about 12-20 bucks. Walmart has them cheap. I personally would get a 20 gallon or larger. There are great sales going on now. If you nix the pleco you could comfortably fit all those fish in a 10 gallon.