Beginner canister recommendations?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

missmonday

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just browsing around Craigslist and this seems like a pretty good deal:
https://portland.craigslist.org/wsc/for/5258902541.html

However, I have ZERO experience with canisters and am the kind of person that keeps around instructions/manuals and sometimes getting stuff second-hand you're left to just guess or google search.

I also tried to look around on Amazon and there seem to be some good ones? I found a SunSun canister that seems good for ~60-65 dollars. I'd love some more experienced people weigh in though!

This would be for a 55 gallon tank that wouldn't be set up anytime soon, just swiping a good Craigslist deal and parking it at my grandma's house, where there's currently more space lol. Preferrably, I'd like to keep any canister recommendations under $75.

The Craigslist deal comes with 2 Aqueon Quietflow 50 filters, so a canister isn't absolutely necessary, but just something I might wanna look into, thanks guys! :)

This is the older model Fluval. New one is called 306 and is what i use on my 55g and 40b. New the 306 runs about $170 with all filter media included. I've never had a Sunsun but many people do use them. You might check Aquatop brand as well. With the Fluval products, canisters and hob I always know how to put them together because it's the only brand I buy and they use pictures.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Off of the top of your head do you know of many differences between the new and older models? Or is it relatively minimal?

I don't mind second hand stuff so long as it still works!

I've never owned the older models so I couldn't say. I remember reading there were improvements but I just can't recall what.