Beginner needing help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ozfishgirl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

My fish are dieing and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm new at this so really need some advice.
We have only had the tank about 45 days and it holds about 50 gallons. We set it up with everything for about 2 weeks before adding fish. We added nine fantail goldfish after the two week period and added 3 more fish a couple of days later. The fish seemed to be doing OK until we syphoned and replaced about 30% of the water. About 4 days later 3 of the fish became inactive and evetually died. We thought it might be fin rot (thier tails looked ragged and smaller) so we treated the tank and then did another water change.
Now 5 days later 2 more fish have died.
When we did the water change we added "Cycle", water treatment and conditioning salts. The PH is about 7.4.
Just wondering if someone can tell me what I might be doing wrong and what I should be testing for. Please be kind as I'm very new at this.
Thanks for any help.

Ozfishgirl said:
Hi everyone,

My fish are dieing and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm new at this so really need some advice.
We have only had the tank about 45 days and it holds about 50 gallons. We set it up with everything for about 2 weeks before adding fish.

Which really does nothing except test the tanks for leaks.

We added nine fantail goldfish after the two week period and added 3 more fish a couple of days later.