Black Skirt Tetra eating issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gon

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everybody,

I am very new to fish keeping and this website. I will attempt to give all information necessary and try not to be too long winded. I have a black skirt tetra who has not eaten for 4 days (Fish 1). Fish 1 had two days of zero attempts to eat, and two days of trying to take a bite or two and spitting it back out which was yesterday and today. He has been swimming fine in all other regards as far as I can tell. This all started 6 days ago, I had another black skirt (Fish 2) die. He had not eaten in two days, and was swimming near the surface, breaking the surface, breathing fast, and on the 3rd day sideways at the bottom. I tried to use Melafix, had an air stone, and water changes, but no avail. I am worried the same will happen to the Fish 1, though his symptoms are different. He has the eating issue, but he is swimming normally, chasing the other fish, not breathing heavy, and not going to the surface awkward and listlessly.

I am worried that it has something wrong with its mouth or bladder or stomach based on what I have read. Some sort of digestive issue. But let me be clear, I have a month of reading experience and I am clueless.

Per the API freshwater master test kit.

I have 0 ammonia and nitrite.

My ph is kind of high at 8.0-8.2 which is the high range for this fish, but I have read it is best not to use chemicals and try to change it. If they can deal with it, it should be fine was the consensus vs trying to change it.