Buying a 55 gallon tank, Marineland vs Top Fin Quality?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CelticEB

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi. I'm new to the hobby and have decided to purchase a 55 gallon tank. I have a limited budget, and am seriously concerned with the actual build quality of the tank I purchase. I would love to buy a SeaClear or better, but it's beyond my budget. I see the Marineland 55 gal Bio Wheel set, and the Top Fin 55 gal set. I don't care as much about the quality of the accessories with either of these, I'm concerned about the actual quality and structure of the tanks. I want something that is gonna last. I'm a little hesitant because I see some negative things written about the top fin tanks.

My question is, is the Marineland Tank worth the extra money in regards to it's build quality? It is much more expensive, and I don't want to spend the extra money on it if the quality of the tank is no better.

I just bought a 29G Top Fin and while it "works" I would not recommend it. The hood is cheap with no latches so it can fall into the water easily. The LED lights are bare in the top of hood. The hood also has cutouts that cannot be altered so getting a larger HOB (hang on back filter) can't be done. Now I have to get a different hood.
The whole system was on sale for $65. The glass is fine I like the tank itself, no leaks. In the past I always liked Marineland, but I'm on a budget for the time being.
Hope it helps!
Coral

Go Aqueon for your tank .
Petco is having their $ per gallon sale I think and the 55 used to be included..
I am not sure now ,but $55 for a new 55 Aqueon is worth checking out...
You will get better equipment cheaper if you order on line..Go aquaclear on HOB and Aqueon PRO for heater...
Can you tell I like Aqueon??? With 50 plus tanks I might have half a clue?