can you identify these fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

violetmoon

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am very new to fish, tanks etc but am trying to learn fast as we've inherited two fish recently and unfortunatly they were left by a previous tenant so we have no info on them.
They were in a tiny ten gallon tank that was covered in a brown rusty looking goo. The filter was full of mold and no way was it even working a little bit. We got a new 36 gal tank and are in the process of setting it up for them.
So my question, and I will probably have a tun lol, but what kind of fish are these and what would be best to put in the tank with them? Eg; plants, decorations etc.

Thanks to everyone who replies, we are hoping to give these guys a great new life!

Attachments

• 1432324584746.jpg
    1432324584746.jpg
    139.6 KB · Views: 126
  • 1432324632008.jpg
    1432324632008.jpg
    166.3 KB · Views: 134
Thanks for identifying them. Is there anything special this type of fish needs?

Hello Violet Moon,

Thanks for saving the little fishies . I think those are parrot fish and/or parrot cichlids..I don't know much about them . I've found good information here,Wikipedia , utube and Google search , .of course there is a lot of bunk information out there too.
Have you heard of the nitrogen cycle ? You tube videos helped me remember a lot about it.you don't have to geek out on it,but a basic understanding some patience will go a long way in successfull fish keeping
Wish you the best in this amazing hobby

Thanks demo, we've been watching a lot of youtube vids today. I bought my oldest a betta four years ago and that was our extent of fish keeping, so its definatly a new learning process. We are going to get some live plants tomorrow and a decoration or two.
Im glad I found this forum, there seems to be a lot of info shared which is great for us!