Cloudy water Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ked2016

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello my name is Kassandra I am new to aquariums. I have a 29 gallon that is filled with tap water. I live in pa so we have very hard and chlorine. I have put water conditioner in it along with stress coat. When I use the dip stick everything is on point. I have 30 shrimp 5 mystery snails and 2 nitrate snails. Dose anyone have any ideas on how to get the water clear? I was also thinking about getting a bottom feeder?

Attachments

• 20230115_193334.jpg
    20230115_193334.jpg
    206.6 KB · Views: 20
Hi Kassandra and welcome to the forum :)

How long has the tank been set up for?
How long have you had the shrimp and snails?

What sort of filter is on the tank?
How often and how do you clean the filter?

How often do you do water changes and how much do you change?
Do you gravel clean the substrate (looks like sand) when you do a water change?
Do you dechlorinate the new water before adding it to the tank?

-------------------

Don't add any new fish, shrimp or snails until this problem is resolved.

Don't add any bottom feeding fish either because they will starve. The shrimp and snails will deal with any food on the bottom.

-------------------

If a fish ever gets sick or the tank doesn't look right (cloudy water), do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate every day for a week, or until the problem is identified. If you have sand on the bottom of the tank, just hoover over the top to remove any uneaten food and fish waste.
Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it's added to the tank.

-------------------