Cloudy Water - Too many fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

psun03

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 10 gallon tank that I have been using for the past 6 months. The water use to be nice and somewhat clean, but lately (past month or two) the tank has been very dirty. In the tank, I host 4 comet goldfish and 3 ghost shrimp. The water generally has not been very clear (see photos). I thinking that I either have too many fish and/or not enough or the wrong filtration.

Here is my specs.
10 gallon tank
XY-2831 Air Pump Sponge Filter for Aquarium, Tank [link]
Aqua Culture Air Pump [link]

I do water 20% water changes every week. Once a month, I do a 50%-75% water change.

I feed the fish pellets [link]

I have tried several DIY solutions for filters, but the one above seems to be the best.

Any suggestions?

Attachments

• IMG_20170206_215643.jpg
    IMG_20170206_215643.jpg
    179.8 KB · Views: 56
  • IMG_20170206_215650.jpg
    IMG_20170206_215650.jpg
    172.3 KB · Views: 58
YES, too many!!!

Goldfish seem like they could be in a small tank. BUT it is a bad idea. They're constantly polluting the water. They need a large tank, check out the article link below, and a huge filtration set up with frequent pwc.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...uire-big-tanks-visual-perspective-265871.html

20 gallons for the first fish and 10G or more for each additional fish, more if it is a Comet type which can get well over a foot long ( and really belong in a pond), With a 10x or more per gallon filtration as in how many gallons per hour the filter turns through the water.

Also a recent thread with many things to do to help with cloudy water
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/cloudy-water-help-please-354408.html

Last edited: