Comet Goldish Eye is gone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Boompoet

Aquarium Advice Newbie
TLDR - Our Comet lost an eye quite some time ago due to poor water quality (we think) and it's recently gotten weirder. Pics at end of post.

About 10 years ago, my wife and I won two comet goldfish at a state fair. We got a ten gallon tank initially and didn't know anything about fish. We added a couple of others and over time, one of them died as did the others. Two remained, one comet and one albino pleco. About five years ago, they were too big for the tank and we had serious problems keeping the water parameters where they should have been. We still didn't know anything about fish at that point. Our comet's eye started to go cloudy and we treated the aquarium for several diseases as instructed by the pet store. I got my first master water test kit and the ammonia was way off, ph was super acidic.

We got a new 20 gallon tall, still probably too small, but we plan to upgrade at some point. Over the next two years, the eye scaled over and healed. We knew the eye was gone. About a year ago, the scales over the eye came off leaving a socket. I tested water and I was in the normal range for everything. No ammonia, PH was perfect for goldfish per the internet, and there were no nitrites and low nitrates which I corrected with a 50% water change. I do semi-regular changes with bottled ro water as our city water is treated with Chloramine and I just want to be as safe as possible.