Complete Newb! Help? :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Uselesstool

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello there everyone. So a little background first. I have been reading this forum and another popular forum for over a year now off and on. I was getting really serious about putting together a salt water tank. However I ended up getting engaged and things got hectic, my slush money became almost non existent, and I basically put everything on hold.

Well now I'm married, and have been fortunate enough to be given a tank from a friend of mine who no longer uses it. I did some measurements and calculated it to be roughly a 47gallon tank. Now that I'm married, we are again moving on to the next stages in our lives and are looking to move into a new place within the next year, so again do to money restrictions, I think I've decided to build a fresh water tank, instead of a salt system. Although I LOVE salt water tanks, and the several options that come along with it, I just don't feel I can devote the necessary time, and money that the system would deserve.

So now I'm at the point of looking to put together a fresh water system instead, a little easier on the pocket book, maintenance, and hopefully it will help get me started since this will be my first tank.

Now for the questions, and just so I say this ahead of time, I'm a total newb, even though I have been doing plenty of reading, and research, so I apologize if these questions are somewhat idiotic. But hey, that's why I came to this forum, because so many of you are a wealth of knowledge.

Here are the pics of the tank, mind you obviously the tank needs to be flipped around.. but you get the idea...

img00132-20101014-1053_thumb.jpg
img00131-20101014-1053_thumb.jpg