Corals dying

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Emelinda76

Aquarium Advice Freak
Omg just woke up to fishy smelly cloudy water n to top it off most if my corals look like they are "melting" nitrate went up to 40 ppm.. Don't inderstand. I have not done anything different!! Help what is happening? .. My diamond goby went missing too for about one week

As much as I hate to say it, I would suspect the goby died and is decomposing somewhere in the tank. That is causing the am, nitrite and nitrate to spike. I very well could be the cause of the cloudy water and the demise of the corals. I would search and try to find him and get him out of the tank. On top of that I would do PWCs often and try to keep the nitrates down. I am no expert so I hope someone else chimes in but I know that is the route I would take.

I would for sure agree. Get some serious water changes done and get those levels down. How are the other fish in the tank?

I'm missing the two stars too... Here are some pics

Attachments

• image-3027563153.jpg
    image-3027563153.jpg
    60.5 KB · Views: 133
  • image-3368149093.jpg
    image-3368149093.jpg
    52.3 KB · Views: 137
What's strange is the only parameter that is up is nitrate... Nitrite , ammonia is zero. Phos is 1 .. Ph is 8.2 ... Ca 500 kh is 11 alk 3.5 n mag is 1150

were the stars sand sifting ones? Cause those when they run out of food burrow under the sand and die there causing major headaches.

I owuld go with pwc's and see where that gets you. You seem to be in grave trouble if your corals are dying so doing back to back water changes might help.

Good luck, let us know

I did change the phos media to gfo two days ago.. Could to any harm other than bring phos down?