Cycling complete! Getting ready to stock new 50g tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mozcheez

Aquarium Advice Regular
New to this forum after constantly combing it over for advice, tips, and instructions! Happy to be able to start making my own contributions. I thought I'd post a little about my new tank. I have a smaller 10 gallon at work that I've been maintaining for 3-4 years, so this is my first time stocking such a large tank.

First of all, I'm very excited that I managed to fully (fishless) cycle the 50 gallon tank in only 10 days (thanks to some media from my tank at work) and will be adding some fish tonight! Dimensions are approximately 48" x 12" x 20". Penguin 350W HOB filter and Eheim 150W heater and aquarium gravel as substrate. I've been doing research on the fish I'd like to stock with (checking out ideal temps, pH levels, tempers, etc.), and I've come up with a short list. I haven't been too lucky with finding much variety at my local (chain :() fish stores, but am checking out a local small business about 45 minutes away from my house this evening.

What I plan to choose from (no! I'm not stocking all of these, don't worry!):
- 8-10 cory cats (I'm hoping to find some Julii's or false Julii's at the LFS tonight, otherwise I'll stick to peppered or emerald)
- 6-12 harlequin rasboras
- 6-12 flame/neon/cardinal tetras
- 2 dwarf or honey gourami (male/female.... if I can find a female)
- ?? cherry barbs or pearl danios instead of tetras or rasboras?

I'm really not set on the gouramis, but I would like at least 1-2 fish with some size to give the tank more variety. Also, maybe 1-2 otos once the tank has had more time to establish and I start getting some algae growth?