Dead crayfish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

iloveyaxo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all. I'm new to this, so here goes.. I woke up this morning and one of my crayfish (I have two), is laying on it's side. I'm thinking it's probably dead, but I've only had it since Friday. The other one looks fine. They have been eating, with no problems. I'm not sure if it's dead? When I look closely at it, it looks as though there are tiny arm-like/worm things moving around near it's abdomen. I'm not sure what type of crayfish these are because I recently bought them at a petstore that accidentally got them with their shipment. Is it possible that these little "worm-like" things are actually legs, like it's molting? I tried to take a picture, but it's so small that you can't see it. I see two things moving, like it's trying to grab onto something, so I know it's not from the current of the filters. Any ideas? Thanks!

If I were you i'd put the net in the tank and kind of tap it to see if it moves. If not (and it continues not to move), then you should phone the fish shop and ask if they can replace it free of charge due to the fact that you haven't had it for long. You should also test your water to make sure it isn't water quality (as the fish shop may ask for a sample of your water to test it and see whether its the water quality that could have killed it or not).

I hope it's okay. :)