Dirting 10 gal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pandicorn

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello, complete newbie to dirted tanks here, so please go easy on me x). Anyway I have a spare 10 gal that has pretty much 0 use atm, so I'm thinking about trying to dirt it (and then probably raise fry in the planted environment).

Questions-

1) Can I just use normal gardening dirt? Any restrictions at all?

2) How will the water run clear? Should I rinse the dirt as I do sand? Filter floss?

3) I've heard something about cycling dirt... is this true, or am I just in need of a hearing aid?

Thanks! :thanks:

Use organic gardening soil. You will need about 1" of soil to 2" of sand. There's really nothing special you have to do to it. Just add dry dirt, moisten and pat it down slightly, then add the cleaned sand on top.

After that put a plate in the tank and fill slowly pouring on top of that so you don't kick up dirt. Purigen might help as tannins can leech from the dirt sometimes.

Organic soil generally contains wood fragments. I'd highly recommend removing as much of that from the soil before bedding your tank. I'd also wash the soil in an unwashed pillow case, the same as you would do for sand. You'll also need a BBQ fork to poke the substrate to release the bubble buildup from the decomposing soil. Learn from my mistake. My soil developed a large "pimple" of bubbles under the substrate and blew up like a volcano, tossing debris everywhere and covering my sand with wood chips. I'm still working to clear the mess from my tank for over a month.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Otherwise, the cycling process and everything else is virtually the same as any other setup.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Aquarium Advice mobile app