Electric yellow holding for the first time :D

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

roydesilva

Aquarium Advice Activist
Okay so my electric yellow is holding for the first time and this is my first time I've had a cichlid holding, I be had african cichlids for around 3 months. So I'm wondering what I should do??? she's been holding for 5 days now and shoes tiny she's barely 6cm

Thanks

Depends do you want to let her carry them though or strip her? Striping would be taking the fry out before she spits. It increases your odds of fry

Either way is safe when done right, I have done both! If you strip her, you just don't want to keep her out of the water too long obviously, and when you put her back in the water for a moment, let her swim a bit and get to breathing. I keep my hand in her tank for a minute to let her get calm and pick her up, she fights me the first 2-3 times I take her out, but then she tends to be a good girl after that.

but ok :) let's get started.

I have had 3 batches of fry from my yellow lab, and she continues to get prego usually 2-3 weeks after I put her back in to swim the the rest.

First time lab mothers usually spit a low number of fry, sometimes as low as 3. My lab spit 9 her first time, which is fairly good!

I recommend a breeder box, and put her in after 1 week or as soon as you see her getting picked on by her tank mates. Stress will cause her to eat the eggs or spit them early (and you will lose them)

They say labs carry around 21 days, but mine tends to be around 29. Her first time, she ran to 27 days. 2nd time, 29 days. I stripped her just yesterday at 21 days due to me needing the breeder box for another, and they still had the 'egg yoke' on them, which could potentially go sour very quick. However, they are doing fine as of now.