Fish suggestions??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HB87

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi. I have a 20 gallon long tank empty and i am fairly new to aquariums and types of fish but i thought about cycling it and putting a couple fish in there. I have a 55 gallon with my Red Devil Cichlid which is my only fish and only fish tank. I love my fish but she cant have any tank mates and i want to have a small community of fish (if possible) so my question is does anyone have suggestions for fish that could live comfortably in that size tank??? I dont mind if they are semi-aggressive or non-aggressive. I just dont want to overcrowd the tank or get the wrong fish for the tank size. Thanks guys :)

personally, in a 20 id look at shelly cichlids (lamprologus occelatus), cockatoo cichlids (apistogramma agasizzi i think) or pseudocrenilabrus varieties. but i adore mouthbrooders!!
you could do a guppy or molly tank to produce feeders for the Devil.
or a dwarf angel tank?
or go planted and do like a river scene with tetra species everywhere.
or dwarf gourami? ooo the options!!

yeah i vote for the first three i put lol :) xx

Some of the smaller rainbow fish would work, I have threadfins and RCS in my 20 gal long, with some easy low light plants and some artificial plants and driftwood.

Okay... How many fish total should i put in there? i want to have tank decorations and sand (since i cant with my Red Devil Lol) and i want colorful fish. I was drawn to my RD for that reason :) and can these type of fish mentioned be found at petsmart or pet warehouse? Those are the only pet stores around here.