Fishless Cycling problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

viper20

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to the forum and also to fish in general, i have been reading tons of info on the internet and decided to purchase a 29 gallon tank and do a fishless cycle. I added 4ppm of the ace hardware janitorial ammonia to the water 3 weeks ago. I purchased an API Master test kit and the ammonia levels are still exactly the same at 4ppm 3 weeks later as they were on day one. I also have 0 nitrites and 0 nitrates which would make sense since the ammonia has not broken down at all.

4 days ago i added a bottle of tetra safe start plus to the water to see if that would get things speeding along but it has not, ammonia is still at 4ppm.

I do not have anything to seed the tank with so i know the cycle will take longer but based off a lot that i have read i would think my ammonia levels would have dropped at least a little at this point?

I do have a fluval 406 filter that has also been running since day 1, i have the water temp at 85 degrees, and i have a bubble wand in there as well.

Any ideas on what more i can do at this point should i do a water change to remove some of the ammonia and dose it back up to 4ppm or would that not make any difference?

Please help

Hello, welcome to the fish hobby!
First of all, witch might be why you have this problem in the first place, did you use a product do remove chlorine, heavy metals and chloramine? You require it or the bacteria will get killed before they can even reproduce. That would be my best guess.

+1 to fishnatic's advice.

Another reason for a cycle to stall is too low of a ph. Do you know what your tank's pH is?

Hello, welcome to the fish hobby!