Fresh Meat Guys - Could Use Some Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Melissa716

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everybody, I'm new to the SW world and could really use some advice and suggestions. First of all, I think all of you experts donating your time on this site is just great, and very conscientious.
But I digress, here's the setup. I have just purchased a 100 gallon aquarium setup for a killer price at this Ontario, Ca location : SoCal Aquariums - Aquariums. Got the 100 tank for $200 and the deluxe pine stand for $165, saw his ad on craigslist FYI for IE people. Here's what I have so far per LFS suggestions, planning on having coral & fish & starting fishless cycling tomorrow:

used overflow, refugium filter system w/ a protein skimmer.
Rio 20 Hyperflow 1290GPH & a Maxi-Jett 1200
216 Watt 10,000K T5 white, w/ an actinic blue & 8 led moon lights. (Prob 2 of them?)
Refugium Mineral Mud

Still Need:
Start out with 20 lbs or so of live rock? Or should I start with base rock, do the fishless cycling and then add LR?
How much live sand?
Should I use purified water & sea salt, or is water from the lfs better? or a combination?
How many watts of light optimal for a 100 gallon tank? 250-400?
Any suggestions...

Here's a link to the lights I'm getting : Omni T5 Lights

Please let me know if Ive missed anything obvious, I have the heater and ammonia and am getting the test kit. Thanks in advance.

return the refugium mud. that's a waste of cash. the mj1200 is a small pump. it's only 295 gph. you need 2 1200 gph power heads at least.
the 4', four lamp t-5 fixture is also limiting. they do make 5' t-5 fixtures now. i would look into a 6 or 8 lamp one of those.
what exactly is the refugium filter system with protein skimmer? is that one of those all-in-one units they sell? if so, the skimmer is probably way under powered for your system.