GH, KH, PH, N02, N03 results

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dunbarr

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All,

I am pretty new the aquarium scene and I have no real knowledge about the GH, KH, PH, N02, N03 levels. I have bought the API 5 in 1 strips and the results I have are: Gh 180 (Max), KH 40, PH 7, N02 0 (lowest), N03 40.

I am trying to work out what are good and what is not so good. From reading stuff on the net I think my GH and PH levels are good. I am having a problem finding out are the other levels ok and that is why I am on here? Also Im not sure the GH and PH are ok?

I have a 36 gallon (140 litres) freshwater tank with some plants, bala sharks, angel fish, pleco, synodontis, catfish, kissing gouramis.

Any help would be appreciated. I will probably be told its a miricle they are still alive.

Welcome to AA :)

To be honest, your readings are not going to be very accurate with test strips. Strips are notoriously inaccurate, you'll need a liquid test to get accurate results. The readings you want are:
ph- steady somewhere between 6.5 and 9
ammonia- 0
nitrite- 0
nitrate- less than 60ppm (<20ppm preferred)

That being said, your bala sharks will certainly outgrow your tank very quickly. They're super messy eaters and will eventually (if not already) cause you issues with ammonia. As adults, balas are measured in feet, not inches.

Hi Thank you for that. I am delighted I found this forum.If I am having problems with ammonia (I will check again with a liquid test) what can I do to get it down or manage it?

Depends on the cause really. If its because the bioload is too large, there's not much you can do other than rehome some of the fish. Ammonia issues can also be caused by over feeding or not cycling the tank.