Goldfish lesion

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishpie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Can anyone offer me some advice on this goldfish? The photograph shows a small area of missing scales behind the gill on one side. The fish doesn't show any sign of distress, but the problem has been present for a couple of weeks now and does not appear to be improving.
The fish is one of two kept in a 100-litre tank. A 30-litre water change is done each week and the most recent water parameters were all healthy. The fish has been in the tank for three months and is eating well (as ever!).
I am relatively new to fish-keeping and don't know whether this is something I could or should treat.
Fishpie

Attachments

• Fish1.JPG
    Fish1.JPG
    93.8 KB · Views: 67
Hi, welcome. That actually looks pretty deep to me - any ideas on how it started?

Is it looking clean? I can't see anything in there on the iPhone but are you thinking a bacterial lesion rather than a wound?

Last one is what are all the readings? And I assume you are using a solution / vial testkit?

If it gets worse I'd try something like tetra fungus guard

http://www.thatpetplace.com/fungus-guard-tabs-8pk

'Contains two antibiotics as Furan 2 (nitrofurazone & furizolidone) and an anti fungal (potassium dichromate). The fura antibiotics are milder, older meds. The Kdichromate is a strong oxidizer.'

Delapool,
Thanks for your reply. To my untutored eye it looks more like a physical injury - if it were on a human it would be an abrasion (and really sore). The wound, if that's what it is, is completely clean.

Water parameters (with a solution kit) on 12th Nov: pH 8.2, Ammonia 0.25, Nitrate 10, Nitrite 0, Temp 19.4. These have been stable for a long time.