Goldfish sipping air too often?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MT28

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I'm somewhat new to fishkeeping -- I rescued my comet goldfish, Kaji, from a fair about 6 months ago and have been diligently researching and trying my best with him since.

Kaji is now about 5in long and lives in a 36gal 24"L x 15"W x 21"H bow front tank that has been set up for about 2 months but cycled almost immediately since I used media and gravel from an old tank. (I know that he'll outgrow this eventually, but it's the best I can do for now). He appears very healthy -- he's active, a nice orange color, has a healthy appetite and no apparent signs of disease.
The tank parameters also seem within normal range (and consistent):
nitrate: 10
nitrite: 0
ammonia: 0
pH: 7
KH: 80
GH: 120
temperature: 77 F
I do 20% water changes once a week and treat with Seachem Prime. I feed him twice a day, Hikari mini sinking pellets in the morning and a small amount of blanched veggies at night (lettuce, brocolli, bok choy, spinach etc.) and never let anything fall to the bottom (he eats each bite from my hand).
There are no other fish in the tank and no live plants only fake plants.

The thing is, ever since he's been in this tank I've noticed that he goes to the surface to sip air quite a bit. He doesn't do this constantly or hang at the surface and his gills don't look like they're overworking or red. He isn't lethargic either, but he does go to the surface for a quick sip of air every 5 min or so, sometimes more often.