Green Star Polyps

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alaunis

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all,
So I just got my gsp frag delivered today. I'm new to soft corals, so if anyone can help out a noob that would be great :flowers:

I was a little concerned about lighting and flow in my tank. I have a 15 gallon Eclipse tank with the original hood, so a 1x18" 15w fluorescent bulb. Is this enough for gsp? My frag is about halfway up the tank. There seems to be plenty of light where I placed it.

The other thing I want advice on is my flow. The only source of movement in my tank is from the return water pouring into the tank from the filter system in the hood. It aerates and moves the water pretty well. Where my gsp is, it seems to get a good amount of flow, as in the polyps (when they hopefully come out) will be moving but not so much that they are constantly pushed over, but then again not a lot. Should I get a nano powerhead for more power and control?

The polyps haven't extended yet, and I kind of expected that since I just got it today and I've heard some people's didn't come out for a week. I just want to be sure that I don't have a serious problem with my lighting and flow. All other parameters are fine.

097.JPG

095.JPG

I'm afraid your lighting is likely not intense enough for corals. Also, it looks as though you have a Cyanobacteria outbreak. You want to get that under control PDQ.

I haven't heard of gsp not opening for a week. Every coral i ever put in my tank opens up after 2 - 4 hours. It is probable not enough light for your gsp. Try placing it as high possible on top of a rock.! And yes you have a cyano outbreak. (red slimy stuff on sand)

Thanks guys,