Guppies inactive

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thekeymaker57

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys, new to the forum so go easy on me. Two weeks ago we purchased a 5 gallon tank, heather, tetra power filter and some plastic plants. 5 guppies and 3 ghost shrimp for the bottom (Ive since come to realise this may be overcrowding). I also had no clue what cycling the tank meant. Unfortunately I was naive and just went for it, now learning its not that easy.

Anyway, no problems for two weeks, but over the last few days two ghost shrimp have died. Now the guppies are very inactive, when I approach the tank they are all either bunched up underneath the heater, or floating still on top of the water. Like I said Im new to all this and learning each day. Am I now seeing the problems with not cycling a tank before putting my guppies in? Anything you can recommend that will help fairly quickly?

Will be buying a gravel vacuum for a water change, and water test kit soon, so cant provide stats on the water at the moment, apart from the fact it always been 78C.

Thanks for your help!

thekeymaker57 said:
Hi guys, new to the forum so go easy on me. Two weeks ago we purchased a 5 gallon tank, heather, tetra power filter and some plastic plants. 5 guppies and 3 ghost shrimp for the bottom (Ive since come to realise this may be overcrowding). I also had no clue what cycling the tank meant. Unfortunately I was naive and just went for it, now learning its not that easy.