Help a newbie fishkeeper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishymishy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all! I am new to the hobby and in need of guidance. I have a 29 gallon tank lightly planted but soon to be moderately planted. It has 3 ottos, 2 guppies (m/f), 6 Cardinal tetras, 6 rummynose tetras, 1 GBR and one Honey Gourami. It is a peaceful community. Temp: 78-80 unsure which thermometer is lying ��

1. Am I overstocked?

2. What smallest bottom dweller would you recommend for this temp? I am considering Cory cats but concerned about temps and overstocking since I’d would need to get 4-6

3. I’d like to get pigmy hatchet fish (6). Good idea/bad?

4. Would it be nuts to add Cory cats and hatchets to my set-up?

5. How about a Neon Blue Dwarf Gourami? Would it fight with any other fish. I would love 3 centerpiece but I know my tank is small.

No you arent overstocked.

6 panda corys would work ok. Its on the warm side in your tank but ive kept them ok at your temperature. What i would say is your temperature is on the cool side for the ram. It would be better in the 84 to 86f range. With the exception of the rummynose tetras and possibly the guppies that would be too warm for the rest of the fish you have or plan to get.

I would have concern with the M/F ratio of the guppies. They will breed, and if the fry dont get eaten by the other fish expect to have a guppy population explosion. The male will also harass the female, if you want to mix male and female guppies 1M/3F is really the minimum to avoid the females being overly harassed and stressed.

Would sterbai cory be too large for my tank. I read they do better in warmer water.

Agreed, my tank is not warm enough for the Ram. I will be smarter next time

Would adding 6 pigmy hatchets and 4-5 sterbai cory push me towards overstocked.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)