Help/Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ameyaraje99

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys,
I'm kinda new to the saltwater scenario. About over a month ago, i got a 29 gallon tank. I filled it up with aragonite sand, about 20lbs of live rock . Equipment used - fluval 205 canister filter, maxijet 1200 powerhead, rio nano skimmer and 2 x 24 watt t5 lighting fixtures (acticnic as well as the regular one). After cycling the tank for 2 weeks, i added 2 clowns, 1 tang , 1 shrimp and 1 hermit crab. 2 weeks the tank was fine with all the fish happy and no signs of disease or discomfort. When i did a 15% water change, all my fish died. My lfs told me that this happened due to the canister filter. I did a 80% water change now and havent added any fish yet. After about 3 days, i'm looking at some red slime (certainly cyano bacteria) I've ordered a hob refugium (cpr aquafuge 2) as per my lfs's recommendation. But i'm still not sure if i'm doing something wrong or i've missed something. Please advise. Thanks

Did you use RO or RO/DI water when you changed the water? Did you match the SG, Ph, and temp levels to your tanks before adding the new water?

No I used tap water. But I did add dechlorinator to the water and the water was prepared a day in advance with the heater in . The temperature was almost the same as the water in the tank. I did not check ph levels of the new water.

@trackfast-- the Lfs said that canister filters are bad for saltwater and without a wet/dry , sump or refugium this will happen again.
I really don't know if that's true

Pls explain how you cycled. That might help us diagnose the fish deaths. I'm very suspicious of the 2 weeks, in that it might not have cycled.

Didja take ammonia or nitrite reading for the water reading during the cycle> What are they now also?

During cycle