Help, my guppies all die this way. WHY??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amyb_70

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Please help me out here, i am a newbie here and only had my tank since May. For the most part all the fish i have gotten are good, with a death here or there but my guppies are another story. I have lost about 5 the same way, WHY? what am i doing wrong here.. I just had to put one to sleep (thankfully i learned on here how, so he didnt suffer long). Anyways they are fine and then Bang they start to act almost high, they get dopey acting, bump into the glass, then they 'get stuck' (lack of better words) to the filter, they flop around, get startled and swim off like crazy only to sink to the bottom they hit the gravel do a couple flips and back up and swimming. They will do this up to a couple hours but the end result is always the same - death. I am getting tired of my guppies dying and my 6 yr old doesnt need to see fish dying off after a week, especially like that... am i doing something wrong?? i had my water tested and it was great a touch hard but everything else was right on..

photo

here is a couple shots of what was happening with him

Attachments

• 005.jpg
    005.jpg
    232.7 KB · Views: 202
  • 006.jpg
    006.jpg
    252.4 KB · Views: 199
Where are the guppies from ? They are, sadly, inbred to a great degree and bred in astronomical numbers, so problems are common. You may have fish from one spawn that are genetically inferior or damaged. Some fish are shipped with parasites or other problems too. I doubt it is anything you did.