Help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bonedog

Aquarium Advice Regular
Im a noob. I was given a 55g tank with cichlids. I love it. Now ive put money down on a 210g tank. Going to pick it up in 2 weeks. Should I put extra filter material in my 55g to help seed my new tank? If so is the more the better?

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

There's not a lot of info in your question.
Is the tank a replacement. Will the filter be moved across. Will it be powerful enough. Are you buying a new filter. Will you run both tanks or is the smaller tank being closed down.
Your plan of events are needed to give a constructive answer.
The simple answer is the more seeded media you have available for the new tank the faster it will be cycled.

New tank. Will be running both. Ive ordered 2 aquatop cf500 canisters for the new tank. The filter will stay with original tank. I was thinking just to put things in 55g to put in 210g when I get it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

You are going to want to add all the filter media from the old tank into the new one to keep it well cycled.

What type of cichlids do you have?

Most common cichlid set ups are Mbunas which require some special considerations when keeping them in a tank to cover aggression issues. Assuming that's what you have you will need to quickly add upwards of 40 specifically chosen Mbuna to keep things civil in that tank. Not to mention the obscene number of rocks you are going to need to provide them all with caves.