Help Stocking (40 gal)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aBabyGourami

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,I'm fairly new to fishkeeping and upgrading from a 5 gal to a 40 gal,since the 5 gal was so small.I'm thinking on stocking it with maybe an Angel and Pearl Gouramies,I would also like to add 8 Juli Cories. Thoughts on this?Please add some beautiful shoaling fish to the list and let me know what you think[emoji12]

The cories are fine. Pearl Gouramis can get large - 4-5 inches. One Angel? In my opinion, virtually all aquarium fish should be kept in groups, or at least pairs. They are happier and healthier that way, I believe. Angels can be a bit aggressive as well and might nip at the gouramis' fins. I'd skip the angel and add 20 tetras of some kind. Cardinals are attractive, so are Candy Cane Tetras. Or maybe danios or rasboras. A large school of fish is very attractive, much more so than one of this and two of that.

Can i maybe add rummy nose tetras?Instead of Cardinals

Sent from my SM-G360H using Tapatalk

Can i maybe add rummy nose tetras?Instead of Cardinals

Sure, Rummynoses are gorgeous and really tight schoolers. In a 40b you could easily fit a school of fifteen. They're big enough that angels won't try to make snacks out of them either.

Another possibility along with the Rummies is a pair of dwarf cichlids -- the apistogramma family. Apistogramma borelli is pretty, relatively peaceful, and easy to keep.

You've got plenty of time, so do your research. Patience pays off in this hobby. :)

Thanks for the reply, What do you think about the following stock

-3 Pearl Gourami
-15 Rummy Nose
-8 Juli cories

Sounds compatible? Anything i can add?

Thanks for the reply, What do you think about the following stock

-3 Pearl Gourami
-15 Rummy Nose
-8 Juli cories

Sounds compatible? Anything i can add?