Help with fishless cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishy fiend

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

Apologies if you have already seen this on another forum, I am looking for as much advice as I can get.

I am fairly new to this and any help is greatly appreciated.

I have recently got a 54L tank and have decided to cycle it with no fish.

The first thing I did was to set it all up, crank the heat up to 80f and started to introduce pure ammonia into it. 2 days into the process a friend of mine was changing his filter sponge so gave it to my for my tank along with 1.5L of water from his tank.

I put the water straight in and put the filter sponge (different shape to mine) under the filter and
As close to the water intake as I could.

I have done a lot of reading on the subject and know how the nitrogen cycle works but am concerned as it does not seem to be going to plan.

Firstly the ammonia - upon setting up the tank, I introduced 2.5ml of pure 9.5% ammonia to bring the PPM up to around 5. I am now a week into the cycle and the shade of green is getting gradually lighter but Not my much. (I was hoping for a faster tunraound with the sponge from the other tank). Is this normal?

Secondly the nitrites - this is currently at 2ppm. I was under the impression that nitrites would only start forming once the tank could break down 5ppm of ammonia in 8-12 hours but we are already showing nitrites after a week and ammonia is still quite high. Could this be due to the sponge or the tank water I used?