High ammonia, no nitrites.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

suprdave

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
New tank, still cycling. I am new to aquariums. This is a 36 gallon bow front, fresh water.

For two weeks now my tank has been experiencing very high ammonia, but I can't seem to get "tipped" over into the next phase where the nitrite levels get going. A couple of days ago I experienced apparently what is called a biological bloom with very cloudy looking water that has since cleared itself up with no intervention on my part.

I cannot seem to figure out why I can't get over into the next phase of the cycle. I live in Houston, could we perhaps have something in the water that would be causing issues? If needed I can go out and purchase spring water and re-fill the tank with that instead.

Before I fully understood how the cycling phase worked there have been many chemicals put into this water, "pH Down", Stress Coat, and Ammo Lock. This was done about a week or two ago, and the water has since had 30-50% changes several times to try to keep my fish alive through the high ammonia. Also, this tank is heavily planted with live Cabomba and MoneyWort. Both plants are thriving.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

My levels:

Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 0
Hardness: 75 (soft)
Chlorine: 0
Alkalinity: > 300 (High)
pH: > 8.4 (High)

Ammonia: 4.0

This is my advice.

You need to do more water changes. With fish you really need to keep your ammonia level at or below .25. Anything above can stress and eve kill your fish. This might mean doing 2-3 50% PWC per day. As for your other levels, cycling a tank can take up to 8 weeks. Sometimes even longer especially cycling with fish. Seeing that the water cleared by itself I say you bacterias are forming. Just be patient and watch your levels and keep up the water changes.