High nitrites!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Seasidelover102

Aquarium Advice Regular
Tank description:
5.5 gallon
Contains two guppies- one turquoise, one blonde delta
Running for about three weeks
Temperature is 78-80 degrees Fahrenheit

Water test says that my nitrites are high. I've been told to do one gallon water changes every three to four days for one or two weeks. Any other suggestions? Btw, I'm new to this so I'm not going to get live plants yet. Please help!

Your Tank

Tank description:
5.5 gallon

Water test says that my nitrites are high. I've been told to do one gallon water changes every three to four days for one or two weeks. Any other suggestions? Btw, I'm new to this so I'm not going to get live plants yet. Please help!

Hello Sea...

Any sized tank will require a steady water chemistry so the tank inhabitants stay healthy. Water that stays in a tank too long will will change because of constant filtration and a build up of organic wastes. So, you need to change out a lot of tank water and do it often. Small tanks need the water changed a couple of times a week. Medium tanks weekly and the larger tanks can typically go a couple of weeks between substantial water changes.

I remove and replace half the water in my tanks every week, so there's no time for wastes to build up. The fish and plants always have a toxin free environment.

B

Anything under 40 ppm is fine for fish. Its not like they don't get nitrates in nature especially during drought years. Im suprised you didn't kill them from ammonia right out the get go i sure did back in the day
:lol:

I'm fairly new to this but did have a similar issue about a month after I first stocked my tank.