How to use AmQuel Plus

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dooboedoo12

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm new to using this to treat water for water changes. Let's say I take out 20% of the water ( which I'm confused about bc some people say 20 a week and some say 50) so I use one bucket to empty the water out and I have another 5 gallon bucket that I have filled up with tap water. Do I add the amQuel plus to the tap water that's sitting there? How long to I let it sit in that water before I can add it to my tank? Is it instant or does it take a day to prepare the water? The water I add to the tank clearly isn't going to be the same temp as the tank water so it will change the temp of the tank for a while. Is that bad for the fish? I have a 30 gal tank now and I'm upgrading to a 90 so I want to have all this down before I begin.

Thank you.

Attachments

• image-3025882801.jpg
    image-3025882801.jpg
    141.8 KB · Views: 169
On your future 90g, you may want to consider investing in a water changer such as a python/aqueon. Buckets will likely take all afternoon to do water changes otherwise. A worthwhile investment!

In respect to the Amquel, it works pretty much instantly. You can swirl it around once or twice in the bucket and the water is safe to add to your tank. However, please consider using both the hot and cold water from your tap as well as a thermometer so you are able to temperature match the new bucket water to your tank water. Its it off by a degree or two, no big deal but you do not want to add ice cold water to your tropical tank unless its an emergency situation.