I need help - high nitrite levels!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lilmissmegan1405

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I cannot get the nitrite level to go down in my tank I've tried water changes and adding salt and I'm new at this so I don't know what else to do PLEASE Help ME

Welcome to Aquarium Advice! :)

Is this a new tank? It sounds like you may still be cycling if it is. You'll have to do water changes and test the nitrite levels frequently, sometimes even once or twice a day, until the bacteria responsible for breaking down the nitrite into nitrate can catch up with your bioload. Here's an article to get you started:

Nitrogen Cycle

Thank you! I read the article and its very hard for me to understand. I don't want to seem dumb I just wish someone could come and show me what to do so I knew how to fix this before my poor fishies die. I wish I would have realized how serious this is before I got so many fish. I shouldve started with one or two now I feel HORRIBLE when they die :( I'm just not sure where I'm at in this but I know I want to help my fish so ill do whatever I need to to keep them alive I just wish I knew what that is

What you should probably do right away is a 50% water change to lessen the nitrites in the water immediately. Then keep doing a 50% water change every day or so until the tank is finished cycling.