I was almost at the end... Nitrites came back!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MajorGFX

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys,

I am not a novice fish keeper but its been a few years since i kept Tropical fish.

About 3 months ago I purchased a 350L aquarium and started doing a Fishless cycle.

I followed this guide:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...guide-and-faq-to-fishless-cycling-148283.html

And it all went 'By the book' if you like until the last step! Now I am stuck!

Aquarium Details

350L Corner Tank
External UV Filter
Internal Fluval U4
Artificial Plants
Handful of Live Plants
Sand Substrate
No fish - Small amount of Snail infestation

I started a fishless cycle on my 350 litre tank 8 weeks ago, everything went as planned and last week I could turn 5ppm of ammonia into 0 ammonia 0 nitrite and 10 ammonia within about 8 hours. So i figured I had a very strong bio filter going on...

I did the last stage of the guide, a 90% water change just before I went to add fish and now I have nitrites off the chart! Why?!

I tested my Tap Water and its free from any Nitrites, Nitrates.

Ammonia is 0, Nitrites off the chart and nitrates 10. Ph is 7.6.

Why has Nitrites come back when I could turn it to 0 over night before?

I am assuming the large water change effected it somehow?

Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Only thing I can think of is if you checked for ammonia in tap?

Has ph or temp changed suddenly in the tank?

Tap Water is fine with 0 readings.

It was only when I did the 90% water change and added 1PPM of ammonia that it spiked...

I have been told by another forum that I used too much Ammonia and it has stalled.

Weird! You haven't added fish yet, I presume? I'd change the water again and see what happens. The only thing I can think of is that your sand had pockets and the water change stirred it up.